This crowdsourced encyclopedia will capture how the opioid crisis was experienced in all fifty states from a variety of perspectives: state legislators, public health officials, doctors, journalists, attorneys, opioid safety coalitions, municipalities, etc.

If you have experienced the opioid crisis firsthand, you are encouraged to contribute your story.

Crowdsourced list of opioid safety coalitions and nonprofits in all 50 states

(If you are an opioid safety coalition, you are invited to join our Google Group by sending an email to jamalkhan@americanopioid.org)

Crowdsourced compilation of opioid crisis research

State Legislators

Pennsylvania State Senate Democratic Leader Jay Costa, Jr.

Kansas State Representative John R Eplee

Maine State Representative Anne Perry

Indiana Republican Majority Caucus Chair and State Senator Jim Merritt

Maine Assistant Senate Majority Leader Amy Volk

Louisiana State Senator Regina Barrow

Ohio State Senator Joe Schiavoni

Alaska State Representative Matt Claman

Virginia State Delegate John Bell

Arkansas State Representative Justin Boyd

Delaware State Representative Ruth Briggs King

Massachusetts State Representative Will Crocker

Minnesota State Representative Dave Baker

Minnesota State Representative Jeremy Munson

Massachusetts State Senator James Welch

Minnesota State Representative and Chair of Ways and Means Committee Lyndon Carlson

Nebraska State Senator Sara E Howard

Florida State Senator and Democratic Whip Lori Berman

New Hampshire State Representative Amanda Bouldin

New Hampshire State Representative Max Abramson

New Hampshire State Representative Wendy Thomas

Tennessee Deputy Speaker and State Senator Janice Bowling

Tennessee State Representative Harold M. Love

Minnesota State Senator Chris Eaton

Maryland State Senator Addie Eckardt

Vermont State Representative Linda Joy Sullivan

New Jersey Chair of Health, Human Services & Senior Citizens Committee and State Senator Joseph F. Vitale

Missouri State Representative Robert Sauls

Connecticut State Representative Brian Lanoue

Kentucky State Senator Chris McDaniel

New Mexico State Representative Andrea Romero

Connecticut State Representative Lucy Dathan

West Virginia State Delegate Mike Pushkin

North Carolina State Representative Joe Sam Queen

Wyoming State Representative Charles Pelkey

Maryland State Delegate Mike McKay

Utah State Representative Raymond Ward

Michigan State Representative Julie Brixie

Vermont State Representative Felisha Leffler

Missouri State Representative Holly Rehder

Washington State Representative Strom Peterson

Mississippi State Representative Joel Bomgar

North Dakota State Senator Howard C. Anderson Jr.

New Jersey State Assemblyman John Armato

Arizona State Representative Pamela Powers Hannley

North Carolina State Senator Danny Britt Jr.

Texas State Representative Ina Minjarez

Vermont State Representative Nader Hashim

Rhode Island State Representative David Place

Louisiana State Representative Kirk Talbot

Municipal Officials

Kevin Thompson. Councilman - Mesa, Arizona

Steve Chirico. Mayor of Naperville, Illinois

Patty Gustin. Councilwoman - Naperville, Illinois

Jamie Horner. Police Social Worker - Naperville, Illinois

Jennifer Kimball. Deputy City Manager - Rockville, Maryland

Dave Sanner. Director of the Erie County Office of Drug and Alcohol Abuse - Erie, Pennsyvania

Mario Bastianelli. Lieutenant of the Sterling Heights Police Department - Sterling Heights, Michigan

Clay Goddard. Director of Health for the Springfield-Greene County Health Department - Springfield, Missouri

Mike Sanders. Housing and Homeless Coordinator - Fairbanks, West Virginia

Jan Rader. Fire Chief of Huntington, West Virginia


Public Health

Michael Langer. Deputy Director. Washington State Health Care Authority, Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery

Greg Lakin. Kansas Chief Medical Officer. Kansas Department of Health and Environment.

Dr. Katrina Hedberg. State Epidemiologist and State Health Officer. Oregon Health Authority

Dr. Christopher Ringwalt. Adjunct Professor, Dept of Health Behavior, UNC Chapel Hill.

Dr. Jay Butler. Chief Medical Officer, Alaska Division of Public Health

Dr. Robert Valuck. Director, Colorado Consortium for Prescription Drug Abuse Prevention

Paul Krupski, Director of Opioid Initiatives, Wisconsin Department of Health Services

Robert Bernstein, Health Officer, Tuolumne County Public Health, California

Tom Coderre, Interim Departmental Director, Rhode Island Dept of Behavioral Healthcare, Development Disabilities and Hospitals

Louise Stanger, Licensed Clinical Social Worker and Professional Interventionist

Meghan McCormick, Epidemiologist, Rhode Island Department of Health

Thomas Denninger, Regional Director of Clinical Excellence, ATI Physical Therapy

Rosemary DenOuden, Chief Operating Officer, Humboldt Independent Practice Association, North Coast Health Improvement & Information Network

Dr. Roneet Lev, Director of Operations, Scripps Mercy Emergency Department, San Diego Campus

Rosalie Liccardo Pacula, Director, Bing Center for Health Economics; Co-director, RAND Drug Policy Research Center

Joshua Crouch, Program Manager, Inland Empire Health Plan

Terri Stratton, Executive Director, El Dorado Community Health Center

Dr. Karyl Rattay, Director, Delaware Division of Public Health and State Health Official



Opioid Safety Coalitions

Kyree Klimist, Senior Program Manager, PH-Community, Health, Education & Engagement (CHEE), Mendocino County, California

Lizzie Maldonado, Co-Founder, OD Aid, Texas


Rich Lord, Journalist, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Pam Lehman, Journalist, The Morning Call (Pennsylvania)

Lawrence Lanahan, Freelance Print and Radio Journalist. Baltimore

John Luciew, Journalist, PennLive.com

Justine Griffin, Health and Medicine Reporter, Tampa Bay Times


Iliana Peters, Attorney and Shareholder, Polsinelli Law Firm

Thomas Ferrante, Senior Counsel and Board Certified Health Care Lawyer, Foley & Lardner LLP

Bob Wade, Attorney and Partner, Healthcare Department, Barnes & Thornburg LLP